rm 163 wheatlands logo

About RM of Wheatlands

The Rural Municipality of Wheatlands No. 163 is a Rural Municipality (RM) in the province of Saskatchewan within Census Division No. 7 and SARM Division No.2. It is located in the southwest portion of the province.


The RM of Wheatlands No. 163 incorporated as a rural municipality on December 13, 1909


The RM of Wheatlands No. 163 had a population of 157 living in 69 of its 82 total private dwellings, a change of 5.4% from its 2016 population of 149.


The Coteau Hills in the RM taper off to agricultural plains. The burrowing owl (athene cunicularia), an endangered animal, makes its home in this area.

burrowing owl RM wheatlands 163


Communities and localities

The following unincorporated communities are within the RM.


  • Mortlach
  • Parkbeg


580px SK RM 163 Wheatlands.svg

The RM of Wheatlands No. 163 is governed by an elected municipal council and an appointed administrator that meets on the second Wednesday of every month. The Reeve of the RM is Kurtis Hicks while its administrator is Angela Molde. The RM’s office is located in Mortlach.